eastbaymomma

Oh cereal, I must let you go

In Random Thoughts, The Program on July 17, 2013 at 4:12 pm

When I gained 99lbs you would have thought it was because of binging on junk food like candy, cookies, cake, chips, fast food, etc. Although I did eat some of that stuff, really I ate “healthy” food in excess. For example, raisin bran is a relatively healthy food, right? Nope, not when you have had three overflowing large bowls in rapid succession it isn’t!!!

I have been able to keep potion sizes of healthy food in check throughout my sixty pound weight loss this year, except for cereal. It is like I become a cereal zombie and, in a daze, I pour another bowl, after I have just had one! And it isn’t Lucky Charms or Coco Puffs it is Shredded Wheat and Cheerios! Super frustrating. I have been fighting this behavior for awhile now and all I can think to do is that maybe I need to simply abstain from cereal for awhile. Give it the twenty-one days that experts say are needed to form new habits and then try and see if I can eat cereal in a normal, properly portioned way. I hate doing extreme things like this but for now I think I must… I don’t want anything, not a stupid bowl (or three) getting between me and the final thirty pound weight loss!

  1. I have this same problem. I stopped buying it because I cannot be trusted. I don’t know how else to cope with the addiction. You are not the only one in that boat. Here’s to you and I in the last leg of weight loss. You got this! ❤

    • It is so nice to hear that someone else has this problem too lol!! I can’t stop buying it completely because of the toddler but I think if I just say no for 21 days it will be easier from there on out! What do you usually have for breakfast? I could really use some hints to spice up the variety! If you feel comfortable sharing, what are your weight loss goals?

      • Yeah with children I am sure that is not an option. I usually have either an omlette (except when im in a hurry) or oats. I find oats are a go-to just because I can throw it all in a bowl and pop it into the microwave while I do other things. I am currently working towards being at a healthy weight which is 25 lbs away, but I started to weight lift, so weight loss has slowed due to muscle gain.

      • Awesome! Congrats on getting so close!! Excited for you!

      • Thanks! You are too girl! 🙂 we got this!

Leave a Reply

