eastbaymomma

Another eating lesson from my 13month old

In Random Thoughts, Uncategorized on March 12, 2013 at 4:28 pm

My thirteen month old has this marvelous mechanism: she eats when she is hungry and she stops eating when she is full. Radical, I know! Her momma lost that fine-tuned ability (for the most part) years ago.

As I ponder how to regain understanding of what my body needs when and how much, one theme emerged: my daughter knows there will always be more food. Now of course I know (and am grateful) that we don’t worry about where the next meal is coming from. But when I eat food, especially food I really like, I eat as if I will never get a bite of it again! Even the most special treat, say a piece of birthday cake, is not a once-and-never-again event. There will be more birthdays, not to mention the leftover cake for the next day haha!

As I work through calorie counting and food experimentation to find the balance that works and feels best in my body, thinking about these mental/emotional behaviors around food is helpful too on this journey to finally lose the pregnancy weight. Baby steps brought to me by my healthy baby with healthy eating habits!!

  1. Brilliant insight!

Leave a Reply

