eastbaymomma

Protein and sugar at night

In Random Thoughts, Uncategorized on March 9, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Night binging has never been my problem. I never understood when people said they could stick to a plan all day long but at night they would over eat. I never understood it. Now I do, but I have found a tweak that has really helped.

The last month or so I would eat super healthily all day long but when the hubby was home, the baby was in bed, the dishes done, I would go back to the kitchen and eat, over and over again!! This culminated with an unfortunate evening last week that involved a box of discounted valentines day candy amongst other late evening munchies. Yup, I’m classy like that.

I was talking about this to a friend and she suggested I eat a protein to make me feel full and a fruit to keep my blood sugar up when I get those post-dinner cravings. I remember a 12-step food group diet that I was successful on that had a late night protein/fruit suggestion which they called a metabolic adjustment.

You might say, why not just not eat after dinner? Have some will power woman! Well, frankly, I am coming to realize that because the studies show that only 5% keep weight loss off longterm, I need to find behavioral changes that will last for the long haul. If I cut nighttime eating out completely, sure, I will be successful for a little while. But I will be miserable doing it and I will eventually conveniently forget my plan or rationalize why apple pie needs to be eaten at ten pm. Instead, If I look forward to Greek yogurt and blueberries each night around 8pm, I am not feeling uncomfortable and deprived and I am making a conscious, nurturing choice. Win, win.

This strategy has worked well for nearly a week! I will keep you posted…

Leave a Reply

