eastbaymomma

Random Thought: Just For Today

In Random Thoughts on August 3, 2012 at 3:07 am

Head Trip Alert!  Often times I get discouraged because the weight doesn’t come off instantly.  I will have been doing so well for a week or so and it feels like hard work for sooooo long (even if it isn’t sooooo long) so I want to look in the mirror and see a difference… and I don’t.  Sometimes in the past that has lead me to say to myself, “screw it, I’ll just eat ______ since it won’t make a difference.”  Possibly, that could be true.  But then I don’t stop there and I over-eat for a few more weeks until I go back on a strict diet again.  An un-fun cycle.

A new way to deal with this crazy thinking is, whenever I have the boohoos because I don’t look much different in the mirror, is to say to myself, “have I done everything I can do today to get to my goal (ie, have I stuck to my food plan?)”  If I have then I can feel some sort of peace.  I can’t change what I did yesterday, last week, last month and last year.  I can’t spin out thinking about what I’ll do tomorrow for weight loss.  But, for today, I can not eat crap or even too much of the good stuff.  I can drink enough water.  I can exercise moderately.  I can keep a journal.  I can take vitamins.  I can get as much sleep as possible with an infant.  This “just for today” concept is borrowed from 12-step program philosophy but I definitely applies towards someone struggling to not over-eat.

Leave a Reply

