eastbaymomma

Daily Wrap-Up: Wednesday August 1, 2012

In Daily Wrap-Up on August 2, 2012 at 4:38 am

My grandmother was in the ICU and declined further medical treatment.  She is now in hospice.  The baby and I traveled to the East Coast to say good-bye to her.  I didn’t blog (obviously) while I was away.  As far as food went, I didn’t over-eat like I normally do when visiting my family however the food they prepare is not diet food and there is dessert after every meal.  I didn’t try and stick to a diet or even healthy eating, but I didn’t overeat much or binge eat to deal with the intense emotions of the past few weeks.  I arrived home late last night.

Here’s how I think I did today on the traditional grading scale of A-F:

Sleep: A+: Tried to take naps whenever the baby did.  Yay!

Water: A:  Drank at least 8 glasses.

Food: A+:  Ate very healthily and with accurate portions.  I almost had some nacho chips when I was tired and feeling down.  I even reached towards the bag.  But I didn’t!  So proud.

Exercise: C:   Morning stretches, walked dogs.

Vitamins: A:  Took them

Journaling: F:  Didn’tthis morning and don’t feel like doing it tonight.  Too tired.

Final Thought of the Day:  Felt really good about doing a lot of basic healthy care: flossing, skin routine, hot tea while watching TV, calling friends when I felt down (instead of eating), etc.

How did you do today with your healthy living?  I hope you are kind to yourself, no matter what.  Life is too precious to spend it living in regret and self-loathing.

Thanks for reading this and I wish you much luck on your own healthy journey!

  1. Brilliant. I am so proud of you. When life happens and those unexpected events occur, especially emotional ones, it is easy to go back to old habits. The fact that you didn’t suggests that you are beginning to adopt a ‘new’ way of life, one that you sound like you are starting to enjoy more. Congratulations, you are so much closer to your goals 😉

Leave a Reply

