eastbaymomma

Friday Foodie: June 29, 2012: Ice Cream Treats

In Friday Foodie on June 29, 2012 at 5:53 am

If you have been reading my more recent entries you know that at night I have been eating ice cream or frozen yogurt.  All day long my eating will be super clean, healthy and reasonably portioned.  Then, at night, I feel stressed or sad or something else and I eat ice cream.  Tonight I ate a very reasonable amount… because my hubby had only left a little bit left in the carton. 🙂

So, what to do about my lack of will power over the evening treat?

Having a five month old has tested me to my limits (in an amazing way) and frankly, I am just not prepared to let go of that evening sweet indulgence after she goes to bed.  Since I know this about myself, I came up with a great solution: instead of going through the internal battle every night over the freaking ice cream and then feeling bad about myself for having it and then eating too much of it because I feel bad and I’ve already broken my food plan for the day… INSTEAD of all that fun… I am now going to have a measured amount every night and it will be part of my menu.

Tonight at the grocery store I bought these 150 calorie ice cream sandwiches and ice cream cones.  Since I don’t have to scoop out the ice cream I think this may just be the trick to keeping my portion sizes small and reasonable.  They are a bit on the pricey side but the peace of mind of not having to go onto the ice cream mental debate hamster wheel every night (will I or won’t I eat the ice cream, I can’t stop thinking about the ice cream, etc) will seriously give me a lot of mental relief!

Leave a Reply

