eastbaymomma

Weekend Wrap-Up: Sunday June 24, 2012

In Daily Wrap-Up on June 25, 2012 at 5:05 am

Here’s how I think I did the past few days on the traditional grading scale of A-F:

Sleep: C:  Baby has not been sleeping so I have not been sleeping 😦  But in fairness, when she goes to sleep early in the evening I should too but it is hard to fall asleep at 7pm (or leave my hubby) even if I am exhausted.

Water: A:  Drank at least 8 glasses.

Food: C:  I haven’t been planning my menus a day ahead but I have been doing a great job on making healthy choices and on portion sizes.  Feeling confident and strong about my diet on Saturday and Sunday.  Friday however I did A LOT of stress eating (brownies, Fritos, boo….)

Exercise: C:  Have done a lot of walking this weekend but I have not stuck to my stretches in the morning and sit-ups/push-ups in the evening.

Vitamins: A:  Took them

Final Thought of the Day:  I caught the tail end of a program on PBS that featured this doctor talking about  the “diabesity” epidemic in America and how to lose weight and prevent chronic illness.  There a few things he suggested that I am going to incorporate in my plan such as taking vitamin D, changing up my portion sizes, filtering my water, not eating items that have more than five ingredients listed on the packaging, eating items whose ingredients you can understand, staying away from sugar and processed food as much as possible, etc.  It was nice to hear that a lot of the things he suggested I already do (cook almost all my own meals, have family dinners together, exercise daily, eat organic as much as possible, have a quiet time of meditation each day, eat mostly whole foods, etc, etc.)  I am learning that it is not my day to day nutrition and lifestyle that is the big problem – it is that every few days or few weeks I turn to food during a stressful situation (sometimes consciously, sometimes unconsciously).  I need to find other ways to self-soothe under duress other than turning to food.

How did you do today with your healthy living?  I hope you are kind to yourself, no matter what.  Life is too precious to spend it living in regret and self-loathing.

Thanks for reading this and I wish you much luck on your own healthy journey!

Leave a Reply

