eastbaymomma

Daily Wrap-Up: Wednesday April 25, 2012

In Daily Wrap-Up on April 26, 2012 at 5:23 am

Here’s how I think I did today on the traditional grading scale of A-F:

Sleep: A:  Am headed to bed asap

Water: A: Drank at least 8 cups today

Food: C:  Lunch was a turkey burger on whole grain bread with carrots.  Didn’t have the fruit.  Dinner was an unexpected night out with the hubby at a Mexican restaurant that we love.  I didn’t pick a meal diet-worthy (split a burrito and tostada with the hubby) but I also didn’t over-indulge.  I thoroughly enjoyed the evening out and the food was fresh and delicious.  I know the extra calories will slow down the weight loss but I also know that I didn’t eat for the wrong reasons (emotional eating because I was sad, mad, depressed, lonely etc, and it was not binge eating.)

Exercise: A: Walked dogs

Vitamins: A:  Took them

Final Thought of the Day:   Ideally the Mexican dinner is the kind of meal I would enjoy AFTER losing the weight, but I am starting to see that being really strict until I lose all of the weight and waiting to have treats like this actually isn’t a realistic plan this time.  When I lost the 100lbs before I was incredibly strict for about five months until the majority of the weight was lost and then I added back in treats and special dinners.  This time my life looks very different.  I do not have all the leisure time to focus only on weight loss (in fact I really don’t have much leisure time at all).  I also need to keep my energy up to take care of the baby and nurse so I can’t cut my caloric intake down to what it was when I was losing all the weight the first time.  I guess I am coming around to the idea that The Program is going to have to be about gradual but steady weight loss and that means maybe a pound a week, not two to four like I saw in 2010.  In the end it probably is healthier (physically and mentally) to enjoy all these treats along the way and still be focused on the end goal.

How did you do today with your healthy living?  I hope you are kind to yourself, no matter what.  Life is too precious to spend it living in regret and self-loathing.

Thanks for reading this and I wish you much luck on your own healthy journey!

Leave a Reply

