eastbaymomma

Friday Foodie: March 23, 2012

In Friday Foodie on March 23, 2012 at 6:42 am

I am a great lover of food.  But I am not a “foodie.”  Foodies are those who love talking and thinking about intricate ingredients, who savor nights at celebrated restaurants serving haute cuisine, who love gourmet cooking shows.

I just love to eat.  And, I hate to cook.  There is so much healthy-living wisdom out there about the importance of cooking your own food to accelerate weight-loss.  If you aren’t controlling the ingredients and portion sizes, who will?  Each Friday I will search out a new SIMPLE recipe that is also easy on the wallet (I hate it when a new recipe has so many ingredients that you spend a fortune just trying it out.)  Feel free to post your favorite quick, simple and healthy recipe and/or cooking tips!

Here’s to a new kind of foodie – one who appreciates homemade, healthy, tasty, fresh food.

BAKED TOFU on about.com:

http://vegetarian.about.com/od/tofurecipes/r/5spicetofu.htm

Chinese Five Spice Tofu Recipe. Chinese five spice is a unique taste that certainly isn’t for everyone. If you have “undeveloped” Western taste-buds, you may want to cut the amount of five-spice required in half, or try a milder recipe for vegetarian Chinese food or tofu. If, however, you want a genuine taste of Chinese cuisine in a vegetarian and vegan tofu recipe, try this recipe for Chinese five spice tofu.

Ingredients:

  • 1 block firm or extra-firm tofu, well pressed
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp sesame oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp fresh ginger, minced
  • 1 tsp sesame seeds
  • 1/2 tsp Chinese Five Spice powder

Preparation:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.Slice tofu into 1/2 inch long strips. Lightly grease a baking pan and arrange the tofu in a single layer in the pan.In a small bowl, whisk together the remaining ingredients and pour over the tofu slices.

Bake for 15 minutes, then turn the tofu and bake for another 10 to 15 minutes, or until liquid has been absorbed.

  1. Well I tried this without much luck. I didn’t have the ingredients on the list (thought I would get to the store but didn’t). I tired it with just soy sauce, garlic powder, ginger and pepper and it wasn’t horrible but certainly not great. I actually think the reason was I had too much soy sauce (liquid) in the mix. The tofu wasn’t nice and firm and crunchy like I was hoping for. Maybe I could broil it at the end for a few minutes? That may be what I try with the leftovers.

Leave a Reply

