eastbaymomma

Tuesday Tenets: The Program

In Tuesday Tenets on March 21, 2012 at 3:51 am

Each week I am going to add a few new tenets to my program.  The newest ones will be in bold and the oldest ones will follow.  I am doing this to develop a system to lose the additional 50+ lbs I need to lose after having lost approx 40 lbs.  Goodbye pregnancy weight!!

*** Vitamins:  It is best to get as much of the vitamins and minerals you need from the food that you eat.  However, your diet can’t 100% everyday provide 100% of everything the body needs.  A complete vitamin is perfect for filling in the gaps.  Because I am still nursing I am supposed to remain on the prenatal vitamins.  When I am done nursing I probably will go back on taking some additional vitamins like extra vitamin D and coq10 for wrinkles but for now the prenatal suffices.

*** Water:  I’m sure you know the rule: 8 glasses a day.  Water keeps your body working properly, gives you energy and makes you feel satiated.  For a “treat” I’ll mix in a glass of bubbly water into the line-up.

** Hierarchy of Priorities that lead to Weight Loss and  a fabulous life:

1.  Baby Daughter – she is 100% dependent on me right now and she must always come first.  If that means I skip a snack or miss a mealtime because she needs me I need to remember that she is the highest priority and to NOT beat-up myself that I can’t be a 100% perfect dieter.

2.  Sleep – it is well-documented that lack of sleep leads to the body holding onto fat and weight gain.  As the mother of a newborn sleep isn’t always easy to get.

3. Food – This means the pre-planning of meals, the purchasing of the food and finally the cooking and preparation of the food.

4. Everything Else

*** Wednesdays are Weekly Weigh-Ins: If I weigh myself on a daily basis I will drive myself nuts!  Wednesdays are not the traditional “I’ll start by diet on ____day” so I think that works for my Program (since it isn’t a diet!)  Plus, I’ve already been weighing on Wednesdays since the baby was born.  Note, it is important to record the amount lost for the week as well as the amount lost overall.

*** Planning and Recording the Day’s Food the Night Before:  This habit was part of the extreme program I did before and frankly, it really is genius.  If you know exactly what you are eating the next day it alleviates a lot of impulsive, I-am-so-hungry-I-will-eat-anything behavior.  And, it makes sure you know exactly what food you have in the house and whether or not you need to run to the store before you get overwhelmingly hungry.

*** Focus on the Food but get 20 Minutes of Exercise in a Day: I have run a marathon while technically being morbidly obese.  I have trained on tennis courts for eight hours a day hoping to be thin.  I have done crazy extreme exercise programs that yes, made me lose some weight, but frankly were probably very unhealthy and taxing on an obese body.  My problem is emotionally over-eating, not with being uncommitted to exercise.  20 minutes of walking a day with a seven week old baby is ambitious enough!

*** Never Get Too Hungry: If I am genuinely hungry, the kind of hunger where my stomach is turning and it is not the middle of the night, then I need to eat no matter what is on my food plan for the day.  I am a nursing Mom who is taking steps to live a healthy, thin, fit life – not to torture herself!

Thanks for reading this and I wish you much luck on your own healthy journey!

  1. Good luck! I am a Health Coach, so feel free to ask me for advice as you go through your transformation! You can also follow my blog for inspiration, tips, and advice:
    healthcoachmeg.wordpress.com or e-mail me at:
    healthcoachmeg@gmail.com to chat about options for helping you lose the weight!

  2. Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

Leave a Reply

