eastbaymomma

Daily Wrap-Up: Wednesday March 14, 2012

In Daily Wrap-Up on March 15, 2012 at 6:09 am

Here’s how I think I did today on the traditional grading scale of A-F:

Sleep: B-: did take nap when baby let me but stayed up way too late surfing internet last night

Water: C: Didn’t think to focus on this today at all.  Will begin tomorrow to make sure I get 8 glasses.  I’ve read in so many places that drinking enough water is key to overall health as well as weight loss.  Apparently, oftentimes we mistake thirst for hunger.  Adequate water intake helps us feel satiated, less sluggish and helps our bodies function well.  After drinking a fair amount of water I sometimes feel my mood alter and I feel lighter, more cheerful.

Food: A: I wasn’t quite able to stick with my menu but when I altered it, it was in line with my Tenets laid out yesterday in Tuesday Tenets.  For instance, I substituted tea time’s snack with some dried apricots and a peanut butter and honey sandwich because I was out and about with the baby and didn’t have access to a microwave to heat up the oatmeal I had planned on having.  I had the apricots because I forgot to eat the apple at lunch.  I didn’t have rice at dinner because I had two slices of bread at tea time from a loaf of very dense, high fiber and protein bread.

Exercise: A: I walked the dogs with the baby wrapped up in a carrier and tucked into my rain jacket  in absolutely pouring rain!  I didn’t time it to ensure it was 20minutes but I definitely get an A for effort for that one!  Tonight I noticed that my body is really feeling beat-up.  It had finally recovered (or maybe it still is recovering) from an intense five day long birth.  Now it feels like all the odd positions I am in for breast-feeding in bed, carrying her around everywhere I go, bending over strollers and changing tables are starting to take their toll on my body.  I don’t feel like a Mack truck hit me like I did for the first month after the birth, but I feel achy!  Doing some stretches throughout the day may help in the coming days.

Final Thought of the Day: It is so nice to be able to give myself high marks.  So often I feel like I never do enough or are never good enough.  The best victory of today is that because I haven’t set myself up for extreme measures, I am succeeding and do not have reason to feel bad or defeated (which leads to giving up or quitting in the present and telling myself it is okay because I will “start tomorrow” – over and over again).  I am so happy to not be caught in that horrible, negative self-defeating cycle.

How did you do today with your healthy living?  I hope you are kind to yourself, no matter what.  Life is too precious to spend it living in regret and self-loathing.

Thanks for reading this and I wish you much luck on your own healthy journey!

  1. It is a huge challenge to get back in shape after having a baby, and I commend you for writing about your journey. I hope that you continue to document this as it will definitely help you to achieve your goals. I am writing a news story next week on pregnancy and fitness (pre and post baby). Just wondering if you would like to be interviewed for this? If so, drop me line. If not, drop me a line anyway : ) Good luck with your journey fellow mummy!

Leave a Reply

